Resources

Over the past year of sharing the film, we’ve found that it can bring up a lot for people, invoking questions, or opening areas of curiosity…So we’ve put this little list together.

It is by no means definitive, and its always growing – it’s more a starting point, based on the things that have inspired us on this journey.

If you feel you need support in a specific area, please contact us, and we’ll try to point you in the right direction.

Feel free to contact us if you have any additions….

Books

Mark Boyle – The Moneyless Manifesto

The Dark Mountain Books – http://dark-mountain.net/stories/books/

Charles Eisenstein – The Ascent of Humanity – Civilization and the Human Sense of Self

Charles Eisenstein – Sacred Economics

Charles Eisenstein – The More Beautiful World our Hearts Know is Possible

David Flemming – Lean LogicA Dictionary for the Future and How to Survive It

David Flemming  and Shaun Chamberlin, Rob Hopkins (forward) – Surviving the Future:  Culture, Carnival and Capital in the Aftermath of the Market Economy

Jay Griffiths – Wild: An Elemental Journey

Derrick Jensen – Endgame – The Problem with Civilisation

Glennie Kindred – Letting in the Wild Edges 

Glennie Kindred – Sacred Earth Celebrations

Lucy Leu – Non-Violent Communication: Companion Workbook

Marshall B. Rosenburg – Non-Violent Communication: A Language of Life

Satish Kumar – Soil, Soul, Society

Satish Kumar – You are, therefore I am – A Declaration of Dependence

 

Lobby Macnamara – People and Permaculture 

Tim Macartney – Finding Earth, Finding Soul

Joanna R. Macy, Molly Young Brown, Matthew Fox (Foreword) – Coming Back to Life: Practices to Reconnect Our Lives, Our World

Alastair McIntosh & Matt Carmichael – Spiritual Activism

Martin Prechtel – The Smell of Rain on Dust: Grief and Praise

Martin Shaw – Scatterings: Getting claimed in the Age of Amnesia

Starhawk –The Empowerment Manual 

Frances Weller – The Wild Edge of Sorrow

Patrick Whitefield – The Earth Care Manual

Jon Young, Evan McGown, Ellen Haas – Coyote’s Guide to Connecting with Nature

Sobonfu Some – Embracing Grief Article: http://www.sobonfu.com/articles/writings-by-sobonfu-2/embracing-grief/

Helpful Frameworks for Community Building

Way of Council explained –  http://www.heart-source.com/council/way_of_council_page.html

Calling the Circle – The First and Future Culture – Christina Baldwin

The Circle Way: A Leader in Every Chair, Ann Linnea with Christina Baldwin (Berrett-Koehler, 2010)

Grief and deep ecology – http://workthatreconnects.org/

Training courses and conflict exploration – www.heart-source.com  (Rob Dreaming works with Landmatters every year to help with their communication and connection as a group)

A Consensus Handbook – Seeds for Change http://www.seedsforchange.org.uk/handbookweb.pdf  – for practical information on Consensus Decision Making

The 8-Shields Model – What is 8-Sheilds?  looking at a natural model with a flow and structure that can be applied in various learning scenarios, long-term mentoring, event facilitation, and many other diverse areas.

Non-Violent Communication – a way of working through conflict – workshops across UK https://www.cnvc.org

Starhawk – Earth Activist Training http://starhawk.org/permaculture/my-personal-journey/

Seeds for Change – http://www.seedsforchange.org.uk – loads of great free resources- they offer training, meeting facilitation and online resources on collective organising and consensus decision making, developing strategy, campaign and action skills, setting up groups and co-ops, co-operative governance and training for trainers.

Films/Places to watch films

Films For Actionwww.filmsforaction.org – a great source for films/articles

Culture Unplugged – www.cultureunplugged.com/

Grief Walker – https://www.nfb.ca/film/griefwalker/ – documentary about an end of life doula

Just Do It  – http://justdoitfilm.com  – Documentary behind the scenes in the world of climate activism. Charting the adventures of the daring troublemakers who have crossed the line to become modern-day outlaws.

Magazines

Permaculture Magazine
New Internationalist
The Land
Resurgence

Campaigns and groups

Britain and Ireland Frack-Free https://www.facebook.com/britainandirelandfrackfree/

Eradicating Ecocide – http://eradicatingecocide.com

Freecycle – https://www.freecycle.org

Lets Schemes –  http://www.letslinkuk.net LETS – Local Exchange Trading Systems or Schemes – are local community-based mutual aid networks in which people exchange all kinds of goods and services with one another, without the need for money.

The Land is Ours – TLIO campaigns peacefully for access to the land, its resources, and the decision-making processes affecting them, for everyone, irrespective of race, gender or age http://tlio.org.uk

Occupy Movement – http://www.occupy.com

Permaculture Association – https://www.permaculture.org.uk

The Real Junkfood Project – http://therealjunkfoodproject.org

Housing Co-ops

http://www.diggersanddreamers.org.uk
http://www.radicalroutes.org.uk

Funding

Lush Charity Pot – https://uk.lush.com/article/charity-pot-funding-guidelines

The Edge Fund – www.edgefund.org.uk

Inspiring people/projects

Alastair McIntosh – www.alastairmcintosh.com

Dark Mountain Project – www.dark-mountain.net

Earthheart Centre  – www.jewelswingfield.com

The Edge Fund – www.edgefund.org.uk

Embercombe – www.embercombe.co.uk

Dark Optimism – www.darkoptimism.org

Films For Action – www.filmsforaction.org

Joanna Macy – www.joannamacy.net

The Land Magazine –  www.thelandmagazine.org.uk

Landmatters – www.landmatters.org.uk

The Leidloff Continuum Network – www.continuum-concept.org

Mark Boyle – www.moneylessmanifesto.org

Patrick Whitefield – www.patrickwhitefield.co.uk

Permanent Culture Now – www.permanentculturenow.com

Polly Higgins – www.pollyhiggins.com

Radical Herbalism – www.radicalherbalism.wordpress.com

Resurgence & Ecologist – www.resurgence.org

Sharon Blackie – www.sharonblackie.wordpress.com

Shift Bristol – www.shiftbristol.org.uk

Sims Hill Shared Harvest – www.simshill.co.uk

The Red Tent – www.redtentdirectory.com

Tim Mac Macartney – www.timmacmacartney.co.uk

The Land is Ours – www.tlio.org.uk

United Diversity – www.uniteddiversity.coop

Shares 0

possibilities not parameters